The St Brendan's team celebrate their Hogan Cup win last April. Ken Sutton/INPHO
Last Eight

Five Kerry schools reach Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finals with two from Cork and one from Clare

Reigning champions St Brendan’s are joined by four other Kerry sides.

KERRY DOMINATE THE quarter-final line-up of the 2016 Munster Colleges Corn Uí Mhuirí competition after the group stages concluded today.

Reigning champions St Brendan’s – who also won the Hogan Cup in Croke Park in last April – finished top of Group C and are joined by fellow Kingdom outfit IS Killorglin.

Tralee CBS topped Group A, Mercy Mounthawk have qualified from Group B while PS Chorca Dhuibhne – four-in-a-row winners between 2012 and 2015 – go forward from Group D.

Two Cork schools have reached the quarter-final stage with Rochestown College and Coláiste Chríost Rí sealing their progression with victories this afternoon.

St Flannan’s are the sole side not from Kerry or Cork, that will feature in the quarter-final draw on 15 December.

Meanwhile St Colman’s Fermoy saw off St Flannan’s Ennis by 4-22 to 2-19 today after extra-time to reach the quarter-finals of the Dr Harty Cup.

That result brings to seven the number of confirmed Dr Harty Cup quarter-finalists. The county breakdown of the schools is Cork (3), Tipperary (2), Limerick (1) and Waterford (1).

Brian Ryan Brian Ryan (Ardscoil Rís) in action in the Croke Cup final last year Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The remaining second round tie will be contested by Thurles CBS and Abbey CBS on 14 December before the draw takes place the following day. That game was postponed last week due to a frozen pitch.

Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finalists

  1. St Flannan’s (Ennis)
  2. PS Chorcha Dhuibhne
  3. St Brendan’s (Killarney)
  4. IS Killorglin
  5. Tralee CBS
  6. St Francis College Rochestown
  7. Coláiste Chriost Rí
  8. Mercy Mounthawk Tralee

Dr Harty Cup quarter-finalists

  1. Thurles CBS/Abbey CBS
  2. Our Ladys Templemore
  3. Nenagh CBS
  4. Árdscoil Rís
  5. De La Salle Waterford
  6. Christians Brother College Cork
  7. Midleton CBS
  8. St Colman’s Fermoy

Today’s results

Corn Uí Mhuirí

Mercy Mounthawk 3-16 Clonakilty CC 0-8
IS Killorglin 1-12 De La Salle Macroom 2-8
Rochestown College 1-12 Coláiste na Sceilge 2-8
Tralee CBS 1-10 Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig 0-4
Coláiste Chríost Rí 2-9 High School Clonmel 0-6
St Brendan’s Killarney 2-24 Hamilton HS 0-8

Dr Harty Cup

St Colman’s Fermoy 4-22 St Flannan’s Ennis 2-19 (after extra-time)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Here are the draws for the 2017 Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup competitions

Coping as an All-Ireland sub, club football role, playing with Kilkenny greats

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.