Dublin have named 11 All-Ireland final starters in their team to face Laois

The Dubs begin their All-Ireland defence in Croke Park on Sunday.

The Dubs have won eight of the last nine Leinster SFC titles.
The Dubs have won eight of the last nine Leinster SFC titles.
Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

JIM GAVIN HAS named 11 of the team which started last year’s All-Ireland final as Dublin begin their bid to retain Sam Maguire.

Nicky Devereux and Darren Daly are named in the half-back line for Sunday’s Leinster Senior Football Championship quarter-final against Laois, while Alan Brogan and Eoghan O’Gara start in the full-forwards.

Otherwise it’s the same team that lined out in the 2-12 to 1-14 win over Mayo last September, with Daly and O’Gara both coming off the bench that day.

For Laois, Colm Begley returns at wing-back.

Throw-in in Croke Park is at 4pm on Sunday.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)

3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)

4. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

6. Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)

7. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)

8. Michael Dara MacAuley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

9. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)

11. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)

12. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)

13. Alan Brogan (Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Rua)

14. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street)

15. Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Rua)


1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)

2. Padraig McMahon (Ballyroan Abbey)

3. Paul Begley (Stradbally)

4. Peter O’Leary (O’Dempsey’s)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

5. Darren Strong (Emo)

6. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)

7. Colm Begley (Parnells)

8. Kevin Meaney (Arles-Kilcruise)

9. John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s)

10. James Finn (Ballyfin)

11. Donal Kingston (Arles-Killeen)

12. Billy Sheehan (Emo)

13. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise)

14. Conor Meredith (O’Dempsey’s)

15. David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise)

Second Captains move the dial to RTÉ with return to radio

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: