Dublin: 8°C Wednesday 19 January 2022

Cadogan and Walsh return to Cork team for McGrath Cup final against Kerry

The duo had missed last Sunday’s semi-final against UL.

Cork's Eoin Cadogan.
Cork's Eoin Cadogan.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

EOIN CADOGAN AND Aidan Walsh are back in the Cork team to face Kerry in next Sunday’s McGrath Cup final in Mallow.

Cadogan returns after study leave to start at full-back while Walsh is back from holidays and will play at midfield. Both players missed last Sunday’s comprehensive semi-final victory over UL.

They are part of five changes made by manager Brian Cuthbert for the clash with the Kingdom. Kevin Crowley, a member of the U21 squad that reached last year’s All-Ireland final, gets the nod at corner-back for his first start of the season.

Mark Collins from last year’s county senior championship winning Castlehaven side, will also make his 2014 competitive bow as he is selected at centre-forward. Elsewhere in attack Barry O’Driscoll, who scored a goal when being sprung from the bench last Sunday, will start at corner-forward.

John McLoughlin, Micheál Ó Laoire, Mark Sugrue, Donncha O’Connor and John Hayes all drop to the bench.

CORK: Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown); Kevin Crowley (Millstreet), Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), Noel Galvin (Ballincollig); James Loughrey (Mallow), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh); Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), Fintan Goold (Macroom); Colm O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh), Mark Collins (Castlehaven), Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere); Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg), Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers).

Subs: Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa), John Hayes (Carbery Rangers), Shaun Murphy (Ballydesmond), Micheál Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán), John McLoughlin (Kanturk), Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond), Alan Sheehan (Dohenys), Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Colin Lyons (St Finbarr’s), Killian O’Connor (Mallow).

Kingdom Legend – How the life of Páidí Ó Sé was recounted by those who knew him best

Kerry and Cork to contest next weekend’s McGrath Cup decider after semi-final wins

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel