Dublin: 20°C Wednesday 4 August 2021

Here are the fixtures details for this year's EirGrid All-Ireland U21 football final

O’Connor Park in Tullamore will host the final.

Galway's Michael Daly and Dublin's Chris Sallier celebrate last Saturday's victories.
Galway's Michael Daly and Dublin's Chris Sallier celebrate last Saturday's victories.
Image: INPHO

O’CONNOR PARK in Tullamore will host this year’s EirGrid All-Ireland U21 football championship final when Dublin and Galway will battle it out to claim honours.

The GAA have announced today that the game will take place at the Offaly venue on Saturday 29 April with a throw-in time of 5pm.

Dublin saw off Donegal in Cavan on Saturday to book a place in the decider for the second time in four years, while Galway stunned a highly-rated Kerry team in Ennis to reach the final for the first time since 2013.

Dublin have recent U21 football experience in O’Connor Park having lost to Mayo in last year’s All-Ireland semi-final at the venue, while manager Dessie Farrell guided a star-studded Dublin side to All-Ireland U21 glory at the venue in 2014.

Jack McCaffrey lifts the cup Jack McCaffrey lifts the cup after the 2014 All-Ireland U21 final. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Galway’s most recent U21 outing at O’Connor Park was in 2013 when they saw off Kildare at the All-Ireland semi-final stage.

It’s the first All-Ireland U21 final meeting between the counties since 2002 when Galway triumphed by 0-15 to 0-7.

That Galway team contained Kieran Fitzgerald, Michael Meehan, Matthew Clancy and Joe Bergin while Stephen Cluxton, Bryan Cullen, Alan Brogan and Mossy Quinn were part of the Dublin setup.

Michael Meehan and Paul Griffin 6/10/2002 DIGITAL Michael Meehan in action in the 2002 All-Ireland U21 final. Source: INPHO

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Quiz: Can you recognise these former National Hurling League winning captains?

‘I certainly don’t lie awake at night thinking about what Joe Brolly is going to say about me’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel