Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Tuesday 18 May 2021

Dublin GAA star named in Ireland Women's Rugby squad to face England

Ireland’s Women gearing up for their first-ever Autumn international this weekend.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

ALL-IRELAND WINNING Dublin footballer Lindsay Peat is set to make her Irish rugby debut against England this weekend.

Peat, a key part of the Dubs’ victory in 2010, is one of 10 uncapped players in Tom Tierney’s experimental panel.

Saturday afternoon’s historic game at the Stoop (3pm) marks the first time that the Irish Women’s team have played an Autumn international.

Jeamie Deacon, Mairead Coyne, Aine Donnelly, Cliodhna Moloney, Elaine Anthony and Ciara Cooney have all been handed debuts in the starting XV.

Zoe Grattage, Mary Healy and Claire McLaughlin join Peat as the new faces among the replacements.

Sene Naoupu, wife of Connacht star George, starts at out-half while Six Nations star Sophie Spence moves from her usual spot in the second row to flanker.

“We are looking forward to the game this weekend,” Tierney said. “It’s the first time we have played an Autumn International which is another step in the development in women’s rugby.

“We have an opportunity to have a look at some new players and combinations building towards the 6 Nations.”

Ireland Women’s Squad (v England)

15. Niamh Briggs (capt, UL Bohemian/Munster)
14. Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock/ Leinster)
13. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara/ Leinster)
12. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/ Exiles)
11. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/ Connacht)
10. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/ Connacht)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen/ Exile)

1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/ Connacht)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
4. Elaine Anthony (Highfield/ Munster)
5. Ciara Cooney (Galwegians/ Connacht)
6. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
7. Paula Fitzpatrick (Stade Toulousain)
8. Heather O’Brien (Stade Toulousain)

16. Zoe Grattage (Tralee/ Munster)
17. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
18. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
19. Katie Norris (Blackrock/ Leinster)
20. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians/ Connacht)
22. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
23. Claire McLaughlin (Queens University/ Ulster)

O’Donnell working towards Munster return early in New Year

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: