This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Sunday 24 March, 2019

Ireland's youngsters beaten by 10-man England in Tallaght

The Three Lions prevailed ultimately despite the dismissal of their Dublin-born full-back Dennis Cirkin.

Ireland's Luke Turner dejected.
Ireland's Luke Turner dejected.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

IRELAND U17S SUFFERED a disappointing 3-1 loss to England at Tallaght Stadium tonight.

The match was the Boys in Green’s opening fixture in a tournament that will also see them face Czech Republic and Germany in Dublin on 11 and 14 November.

Colin O’Brien’s side got off to a bad start, with goals from Harvey Elliott and Alexander Mighten seeing the visitors secure a two-goal first-half lead.

However, Festy Ebosele’s successful spot kick gave Ireland hope going in at the break, as did the dismissal of England’s Dublin-born full-back Dennis Cirkin.

But the visitors prevailed ultimately, with a late goal from substitute Sam Greenwood sealing the victory.

“It was a great game for us to get against very good opposition,” O’Brien said afterwards. “England are a quality side. I thought tonight we were very good for long periods. What the players learned tonight was that mistakes around the box can be punished.

“We had a brilliant response after England’s second goal. We deserved to score just before the break. Tonight was a fantastic education for the players. We’re disappointed to lose, but there was encouraging performances.”

Republic of Ireland: Jimmy Corcoran; Seamas Keogh (capt), Luke Turner, Cian Kelly, James Furlong; Brandon Holt, Joe Hodge; Matt Everitt, Timi Sobowale (Joshua Giurgi 63), Festy Ebosele (Sean Kennedy 90+3); Conor Carty.

England: James Trafford (Louie Moulden 46); Yunus Musah, Nathan Wood-Gordon, Dynel Simeu, Dennis Cirken; Jensen Weir, Miguel Azeez, Fabio Carvalho (capt) (Hayden Roberts 46); Harvey Elliott (Benjamin Knight 77), Joe Gelhardt (Morgan Rogers 63), Alexander Mighten (Sam Greenwood 63).

Referee: Yigal Frid (Israel).

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel