Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Monday 1 March 2021

Irish winners of both the men's and women's Dublin City Marathon

Sean Hehir became the first Irishman to win for 20 years while Maria McCambridge justified her favourite tag in the women’s race.

Sean Hehir wins the 2013 Dublin City Marathon.
Sean Hehir wins the 2013 Dublin City Marathon.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

FOR THE FIRST time in twenty years an Irishman has won the Dublin City Marathon.

Dublin based primary school teacher Sean Hehir — originally from Clare — became the first Irishman since John Tracey in 1993 to win in Dublin after coming home in a time of 2:18:19, 53 seconds ahead of fellow Irish runner Joe Sweeney who was running his first marathon.

Moldovan Sergio Ciobanu, who runs with Clonliffe Harriers, was third in 2:22:02.

Maria McCambridge justified her favourite tag in the women’s race, coming home first in a time of 2:38:51 after a fantastic tussle with Cork’s Claire McCarthy-Gibbons (2:39:27), while Tullamore’s Pauline Curley finished third in 2:42:58.

Maria McCambridge shows her delight at winning.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Paul Hannan won his fourth wheelchair title in 2:34:48, nearly three minutes ahead of Jim Corbett (2:37;27) while Patrick Monahan (2:38:54) was third.

Hopes had been high that Ireland would produce the winner in both races after the lack of a headline sponsor earlier in the year meant the usual invitations were not issued to the East African runners who have dominated the event in recent years.

A record 14,500 runners took to the start line this morning with road closures expected to stay in place throughout the day as the later finishers come home.

‘My Ireland team to beat the All Blacks is…’

10 steps to surviving today’s Dublin City Marathon

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: