This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

5 new faces in Limerick hurling panel, 6 depart, O'Grady still captain and Moran stays on

TJ Ryan has shaken up his panel for the coming season.

The Limerick hurling team before last August's All-Ireland semi-final against Kilkenny.
The Limerick hurling team before last August's All-Ireland semi-final against Kilkenny.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

LIMERICK BOSS TJ Ryan has shaken up his hurling panel for the 2015 season with five new players introduced to the setup and six players making way.

In addition Donal O’Grady is to remain as team captain with Paudie O’Brien, a member of the current Munster club champions Kilmallock, to act as vice-captain. Another boost for Limerick is the inclusion of Niall Moran in their squad. Moran announced his retirement in December 2013 but returned to the panel last June.

The Limerick Leader reports today that Ryan has drafted in to his senior setup two members of the county minor team that reached the All-Ireland final against Kilkenny last September.

Cian Lynch, who captained that minor team, and Tom Morrissey have been called up. Both players lined out in attack in that All-Ireland minor decider and struck 0-5 between them.

Cian Lynch leads his team out Cian Lynch leads Limerick out before the All-Ireland minor final last year. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

The other new players drafted in are Pat Begley, Adrian Breen and Seanie O’Brien. Begley and O’Brien both started on the Limerick team that won the Munster U21 final in 2011 against Cork while Breen came on as a sub in that game. Breen has also won two county and Munster senior club medals in recent years with Na Piarsaigh.

Adrian Breen celebrates scoring a late goal Adrian Breen in action for Na Piarsiagh. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

The six players to make way from the Limerick panel include three players who played in that U21 victory in 2011 – Alan Dempsey, Michael Ryan and Mark Carmody. William Hickey, Tommy Quaid and Paudie Ahern also make way.

Limerick begin their competitive campaign on January 18th with a Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-final tie against Waterford or Limerick IT. Their opening Division 1B Allianz hurling league match is against Waterford on Saturday February 14th.

TJ Ryan Limerick hurling boss TJ Ryan Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


Na Piarsaigh – David Breen, Shane Dowling, Kevin Downes, Cathal King, Adrian Breen.

Kilmallock – Gavin O’Mahony, Graeme Mulcahy, Paudie O’Brien, Barry Hennessy.

Adare – Declan Hannon, John Fitzgibbon, Wayne McNamara.

Ahane – Niall Moran, Dan Morrissey, Tom Morrissey.

Tom Morrissey 17/8/2014 Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Patrickswell – Thomas O’Brien, Cian Lynch, Seanie O’Brien.

Murroe-Boher – Seamus Hickey, Seanie Tobin.

Mungret – Patrick Begley.

South Liberties – Tom Ryan.

Dromin-Athlacca – David Reidy.

Effin – Nickie Quaid.

Knockaderry – Tom Condon.

Tom Condon 27/7/2014 Limerick's Tom Condon Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Blackrock – Richie McCarthy.

Garryspillane – James Ryan.

Bruff – Paul Browne.

Granagh-Ballingarry – Donal O’Grady.

Hospital-Herbertstown – Aaron Murphy.

Glenroe – Stephen Walsh.

Croom – Conor Allis.

Arguably the greatest Limerick footballer ever has retired from the inter-county game

2 key Tipp hurling defenders to miss league but there’s 8 new additions to squad

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: