Dublin: 13°C Sunday 1 August 2021

Mayo welcome back two Allstars to starting side while no Eoin Bradley for Derry

Colm Boyle and Ger Cafferkey return to the Mayo defence as Derry make two changes.

Colm Boyle and Donal Vaughan attempt to tackle Peter Hughes of Tyrone.
Colm Boyle and Donal Vaughan attempt to tackle Peter Hughes of Tyrone.
Image: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Updated at 12.45pm

AFTER A BIG win against Monaghan last time out Mayo have been forced into making five changes for their game against Derry, in part due to U21 commitments.

Stephen Coen, Patrick Durcan and Diarmuid O’Connor are all released to the U21 squad for the Connacht championship and are replaced by Ger Cafferkey, Colm Boyle and Michéal Forde respectively.

The other two changes see Kenneth O’Malley replace Robbie Hennelly and Danny Kirby come in for Donal Vaughan, who has a slight ankle injury.

The game against Derry takes place on Sunday at 2pm in Celtic Park.


1. Kenneth O’Malley – Ballinrobe

2. Tom Cunniffe – Castlebar Mitchels
3. Kevin Keane – Westport
4. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis (Capt.)

5. Lee Keegan – Westport
6. Ger Cafferkey – Ballina Stephenites
7. Colm Boyle – Davitts

8. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy
9. Danny Kirby – Castlebar Mitchels

10. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore
11. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
12. Micheál Forde – Ballycastle

13. Mark Ronaldson – Shrule/Glencorrib
14. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
15. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole​

Mark Lynch Derry's Mark Lynch. Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Opponents Derry have made two changes with Aidan McAlynn coming in for the injured Barry McGoldrick whilst captain Mark Lynch returns from a one-match ban, replacing Eoin Bradley who misses the game due to a prearranged family holiday.


1. Eoin McNicholl – Glenullin

2. Oisin Duffy – Foreglen
3. Niall Holly – Eoghan Rua, Coleraine
4. Dermot McBride – Ballinascreen

5. Brian Óg McAlary – Kilrea
6. Kevin Johnston – Dungiven
7. Sean Leo McGoldrick – Eoghan Rua, Coleraine

8. Mark Craig – Dungiven
9. Brian Óg McGilligan – Banagher

10. Carlus McWilliams – Ballinascreen
11. Mark Lynch – Banagher
12. Enda Lynn – Greenlough

13. Daniel McKinless – Ballinderry
14. Benny Heron – Ballinascreen
15. Aidan McAlynn – The Loup

Originally published at 9.45pm on 5 March.

Kildare gain U21 revenge over Offaly as senior star shines

JBM has named the side he hopes will stop Dublin’s scorching start to the NHL

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel