Dublin: 3°C Thursday 9 December 2021

Dr Harty Cup champions fall behind in injury-time, then hit winning goal and reach All-Ireland semi-final

Midleton CBS will now face Presentation Athenry at the last four stage.

The Midleton CBS team before their recent Harty Cup final win
The Midleton CBS team before their recent Harty Cup final win
Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Midleton CBS 1-14
Coláiste Eoin Stillorgan 1-12

Rónán Mac Lochlainn reports from Nowlan Park

A LAST-GASP goal from Jason Hankard rescued victory for Dr Harty Cup champions Midleton CBS this afternoon in Nowlan Park and saw them advance to the semi-finals of the Croke Cup as they accounted for Dublin’s Coláiste Eoin.

Midleton looked primed to advance at their ease as they led by five points at the three quarter mark but a stirring Coláiste Eoin comeback saw them take the lead in injury time.

However, the final word belonged to the Harty Cup winners as Ryan McCarthy’s sideline ball was deflected to the net by Hankard to complete a thrilling victory in the 6th minute of added time.

There was very little to separate the sides in the opening quarter as Hankard and Ross O’Regan were both on target for Midleton while Pádraig Puirséil and Dónal Mac Duinnsléibhe replied in kind for Coláiste Eoin.

However, McCarthy’s prowess ensured his side a narrow but deserved 0-8 to 0-6 interval lead and he continued to dominate upon the resumption as he landed four scores on the bounce to leave Midleton in control at 0-12 to 0-7 by the 45th minue.

However, their opponents battled back gamely with three points of their own and when Ó Luanacháin landed a point from deep in the 63rd minute to augment a goal by Seamus Ó Fiachna, they looked well set for victory.

However, there was to be one final sting in the tail as Hankard completed a memorable win for his side in the most thrilling of circumstances.

Scorers for Midleton CBS: Ryan McCarthy 0-10 (0-6f, 0-2 sideline, 0-1 ‘65’), Jason Hankard 1-1, Ross O’Regan 0-2, Sam Quirke 0-1.

Scorers for Coláiste Eoin: Séamus Ó Fiachna 1-3 (0-2f), Pádhraic Ó Luineacháin 0-4 (0-2 ‘65’), Dónal Mac Duinnsléibhe 0-2, Darach Mac Giolla Bhríde, Pádraig Puirséil, Odhrán Mac Gearailt 0-1 each.

Midleton CBS

1. Jack McGann (Kiltha Óg)

2. Cormac O’Brien (Midleton)
3. Dylan Hogan (Killeagh)
4. Dylan Healy (Kiltha Óg)

5. Peter Hassett (Fr O’Neill’s)
6. Ciaran Joyce (Kiltha Óg)
7. Darragh Moran (Kiltha Óg)

8. Ryan McCarthy (Killeagh)
9. Sam Quirke (Midleton)

10. Cathal Hickey (Lisgoold)
11. Ross O’Regan (Midleton)
12. Gary Carroll (Midleton)

13. Kian Farmer (Midleton)
14. Arthur Nganou (Midleton)
15. Jason Hankard (Fr O’Neills)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


Olan Broderick (Killeagh) for Carroll (40)
S Walsh for Hickey (55)

Coláiste Eoin

1. Ben Ó hEidhin (Kilmacud Crokes)

2. Brian Mac Síthigh (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Finn Ó Murchú (Naomh Olaf)
4. Eoghan Ó Ceallacháin (Cuala)

5. Tom Stakelum (Kilmacud Crokes)
6. Sean Ó Cinnseallaiagh (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Cian Ó Cathasaigh (Kilmacud Crokes)

8. Iain Ó hEithir (Naomh Eoin)
9. Conall Ó Tuathail (Cuala)

10. Séamus Ó Fiachna (Ballinteer St John’s)
11. Dónal Mac Duinnsléibhe (Naomh Olaf)
12. Pádhraic Ó Luineacháin (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Pádraig Puirséil (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Darach Mac Giolla Bhríde (St Vincent’s)
15. Tomás Ó hEachtigheirn (Ballinteer St John’s)


Odhrán MacGearailt (Cuala) for Ó Tuathail (half-time)
Rian Ó Maoileion (Cuala) for Mac Giolla Bhríde (42)
Seán Ó Cuanaigh (Faughs) for Stakelum (53)

Referee: David Hughes (Carlow)

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Rónán Mac Lochlainn

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel