Tuesday 7 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
INPHO Monaghan's Dessie Ward and Fermanagh's Cian McManus are both set for their senior debuts.
# starting XV
New faces in Monaghan and Fermanagh teams for Ulster championship opener
Antrim have also unveiled their team for their clash against Donegal.

THERE WILL BE new faces in football championship action for both Monaghan and Fermanagh in tomorrow evening’s Ulster senior opener.

Dessie Ward is the only debutant in the Monaghan team after being selected at wing-forward.

Karl O’Connell moves to midfield to partner Kieran Hughes with a knee injury ruling out Darren Hughes for the provincial campaign.

Fermanagh bring Cian McManus and Conor Murphy into their defence while Kane Connor is the other newcomer at corner-forward, alongside the experienced duo Sean Quigley and Tomas Corrigan.

Throw-in in Clones tomorrow is 7pm.

Meanwhile Antrim have named their team for Sunday’s trip to Ballybofey to face Donegal at the quarter-final stage. Matthew Fitzpatrick, who had his proposed 48-week ban overturned this week, is selected at centre-forward.


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

5. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
6. Vinny Corey (Clontibret)
7. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)

8. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)
9. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)

10. Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone)
11. Shane Carey (Scotstown)
12. Dessie Ward (Ballybay)

13. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown)
14. Jack McCarron (Currin)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret)


16. Conor Forde (Scotstown)
17. Kieran Duffy (Latton)
18. James Mealiff (Clones)
19. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
20. Brian Greenan (Clontibret)
21. Aaron Lynch (Carrickmacross)
22. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
23. Owen Duffy (Latton)
24. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
25. Thomas Kerr (Ballybay)
26. Micheal Bannigan (Aughnamullen)


1. Tom Treacy (Devenish)

2. Michael Jones (Derrygonnelly Harps)
3. Che Cullen (Belnaleck)
4. Cian McManus (Teemore)

5. Aiden Breen (Tempo)
6. Ryan McCluskey (Enniskillen)
7. Conor Murphy (Kinawley)

8. Eoin Donnelly (Coa)
9. Lee Cullen (Belnaleck)

10. Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
11. Ryan Lyons (Erne Gaels)
12. Paul McCusker (St Joseph’s Ederney)

13. Kane Connor (Belnaleck)
14. Sean Quigley (Roslea Shamrocks)
15. Tomas Corrigan (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh, Dublin)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Chris Kerr (St Gall’s – captain)

2. Conor Hamill (St Joseph’s)
3. Patrick Gallagher (St Joseph’s)
4. Peter Healy (Naomh Eanna)

5. Paddy McBride (St John’s)
6. Declan Lynch (Lámh Dhearg)
7. Paddy McAleer (All Saints Ballymena)

8. Sean McVeigh (All Saints Ballymena)
9. Stephen Beatty (O’Donovan Rossa)

10. Ruairi McCann Ruairi (Creggan Kickhams)
11. Mathew Fitzpatrick (St John’s)
12. Mark Sweeney (St Jude’s, Dublin)

13. CJ McGourty (St Gall’s)
14. Brendan Bradley (St Gall’s)
15. Tomas McCann (Clann na hÉireann)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Ulster says no one likes us, but we don’t care

Tyrone legend Owen Mulligan rules out playing return with London as he focuses on coaching