This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 16 °C Saturday 8 August, 2020

Unsurprisingly, Leicester and Spurs dominate PFA Premier League Team of the Year

Both the Foxes and Spurs have four players included.

Image: Nigel French/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THERE’S NOT MUCH separating them in the race for the title and it was a similar story when the PFA Premier League Team of the Year was announced earlier today.

Both Leicester and Tottenham dominate the selection with four players from each club included.

Inevitably, the Foxes’ ‘Holy Trinity’ of Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante – all shortlisted for the Player of the Year award – make the grade once again while the team captain Wes Morgan is also selected.

Both Harry Kane and Dele Alli – who are also in the mix for Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year respectively – get the nod along with their team-mates Toby Alderweireld and Danny Rose.

Elsewhere, another candidate for the main individual award – West Ham’s Dimitri Payet – is included while there’s room too for Arsenal youngster Hector Bellerin.

Meanwhile, Manchester United’s David de Gea was voted the top-flight’s best goalkeeper by his fellow professionals.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Guillem Balague says Man United will snub Jose Mourinho this summer

Van Gaal annoyed by Old Trafford ‘empty seats’ claims

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next: