Team news

JOD, Ringrose and Holland start with five uncapped players on Ireland bench

Peter O’Mahony, Keith Earls, Paddy Jackson and Sean O’Brien all make their returns.

JOE SCHMIDT HAS named an entirely changed Ireland starting team for Saturday’s November Test against Canada at the Aviva Stadium [KO 7.15pm, RTÉ 2].

Garry Ringrose, Jack O’Donoghue and Billy Holland make their Test debuts in the Ireland XV, while there are a further five uncapped players on the bench in James Tracy, John Ryan, Dan Leavy, Luke McGrath and Niyi Adeolokun.

Peter O'Mahony Peter O'Mahony captains Ireland. Dan Sheridan / INPHO Dan Sheridan / INPHO / INPHO

Peter O’Mahony makes his international return 13 months after rupturing his ACL at the World Cup, starting at blindside and captaining the side, with Sean O’Brien also making his comeback in the number seven jersey – his last start having come against France in the Six Nations earlier this year.

New cap O’Donoghue makes his debut at number eight, as Ultan Dillane comes into the side and joins 31-year-old debutant Holland in the second row.

Cian Healy gets the starting nod at loosehead, with Sean Cronin and Finlay Bealham – making his first Ireland start – completing the front row.

Kieran Marmion and the returning Paddy Jackson are Schmidt’s halfbacks, while Luke Marshall and Ringrose are in midfield.

Munster’s Keith Earls – having been suspended last weekend – is on the left wing, Connacht’s Tiernan O’Halloran starts at fullback, and Ulsterman Craig Gilroy is on the right wing.

The bench includes the uncapped Tracy, Ryan, McGrath, Leavy and Adeolokun, as well as Dave Kilcoyne, Donnacha Ryan and Joey Carbery.

Ireland (v Canada):

15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Craig Gilroy
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Luke Marshall
11. Keith Earls
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Cian Healy
2. Sean Cronin
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Ultan Dillane
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Sean O’Brien
8. Jack O’Donoghue


16. James Tracy
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. John Ryan
19. Donnacha Ryan
20. Dan Leavy
21. Luke McGrath
22. Joey Carbery
23. Niyi Adeolokun

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

12 changes to All Black side following Ireland defeat

Proximity of toughest Tests tempers Irish excitement for Women’s Rugby World Cup

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.