This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 11 July, 2020

Brendan Maher returns to midfield as Tipp prepare for league final showdown with Kilkenny

Tipperary are competing in their fourth Division 1 hurling league final since 2013.

Image: Conor Wyse/INPHO

MICHAEL RYAN HAS named his starting side for Tipperary’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1 final against Kilkenny this weekend, with Brendan Maher named to start at midfield.

Maher was introduced at the interval last Saturday evening as the Premier County overcame Limerick in an extra-time thriller to book their place in a fourth Division 1 hurling league final since 2013.

He came on in place of Tomás Hamill, who drops to the bench for the league decider against Brian Cody’s charges on Sunday at Nowlan Park [Throw-in 3.30pm, TG4].

The Borris-Ileigh man will partner Séamus Kennedy in the middle of the field, with Ronan Maher switching to wing-back.

Meanwhile, Jason Forde is retained in the starting side after posting 2-11 against Limerick last weekend, while John O’Dwyer is kept in the reserves once again, as is Cathal Barrett.

The clash between Kilkenny and Tipperary will form part of a double-header with the Littlewoods Ireland Division 1 camogie decider between Kilkenny and Cork [Throw-in 1.30, TG4].


1. Darragh Mooney (Eire Og Annacarty-Donohill)

2. Alan Flynn (Kildangan)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Dombane)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Eire Og)
6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel)

10. Seán Curran (Mullinahone)
11. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)
12. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

13. Michael Breen (Ballina)
14. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
15. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)


16. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)
17. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
18. Ger Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams)
19. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
20. Paudie Feehan (Killenaule)
21. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy)
22. Donagh Maher (Burgess)
23. Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy)
24. Seán O’Brien (Newport)
25. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
26. Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

 Battle for remaining semi-final places heats up in last round of Division 1 group games

‘I wouldn’t be good enough’: Joining Dublin footballers never on the cards for Sutcliffe

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel