This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 16 February, 2019

Ireland U20 prop O'Toole starts alongside returning Rory Best in Edinburgh

Jono Gibbes has made a total of seven changes from the team who lost heavily in Cardiff.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

GRAND SLAM-WINNING Ireland captain Rory Best will return to Ulster colours for tomorrow night’s Pro14 clash away to Edinburgh (kick-off 19.35, BBC NI).

The 35-year-old has rested up since leading Ireland to victory in Twickenham on 17 March and he is one of seven changes to the side which lost 35 – 17 to Cardiff Blues a fortnight ago.

Alongside Best, Ireland U20 tighthead Tom O’Toole will make his senior provincial debut with Rodney Ah You providing cover on the bench.

The suspended Craig Gilroy is replaced by Louis Ludik on the right wing, while Darren Cave returns to the centre in place of Luke Marshall.

Iain Henderson moves from back row to lock to allowing Matt Rea and Jean Deysel return while Nick Timoney shifts to openside.

Edinburgh are the form team in the Pro14 and have pulled 13 points clear of Ulster in the race for playoff places from Conference B with matches fast running out.


15. Blair Kinghorn
14. Dougie Fife
13. Mark Bennett
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Duhan van der Merwe
10. Duncan Weir
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Jordan Lay
2. Stuart McInally (Capt)
3. Simon Berghan
4. Ben Toolis
5. Grant Gilchrist
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. Jamie Ritchie
8. Bill Mata


16. Neil Cochrane
17. Rory Sutherland
18. WP Nel
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Cornell du Preez
21. Sean Kennedy
22. Jaco van der Walt
23. Chris Dean


15. Charles Piutau
14. Louis Ludik
13. Darren Cave
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Johnny McPhillips
9. John Cooney

1. Andy Warwick
2. Rory Best (Capt)
3. Tom O’Toole
4. Matt Dalton
5. Iain Henderson
6. Matt Rea
7. Nick Timoney
8. Jean Deysel


16. Rob Herring
17. Tommy O’Hagan
18. Rodney Ah You
19. Alan O’Connor
20. Sean Reidy
21. Dave Shanahan
22. Angus Curtis
23. Tommy Bowe

Playoff picture: What your province needs from the final rounds of the Pro14

‘I need those games’ – SOB keen on Australia tour after missing Grand Slam

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel