This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 4 April, 2020

4 changes to Cork football team for Sunday's league opener against Mayo

Páirc Uí Rinn is the venue for next Sunday’s clash.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CORK HAVE MADE four changes from last Friday’s McGrath Cup final win for next Sunday’s Allianz league opener against Mayo.

After that victory over Clare, manager Peadar Healy has shaken his side up for the Division 1 game in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Jamie O’Sullivan comes into the defence at corner-back instead of Kieran Histon, who drops to the bench, while the other three changes are in attack.

Andrew O’Sullivan and Luke Connolly are named to start in the wing-forward slots and Peter Kelleher gets the nod to play at the edge of the square. Those three players all came on as substitutes against the Banner.

Kevin O’Driscoll, Ruairi Deane and Dan McEoin are the players to drop out of the attack.

There’s only seven survivors from the Cork team that started in last July’s All-Ireland qualifier loss to Kildare – Ken O’Halloran, Colm O’Driscoll, Eoin Cadogan, Jamie O’Sullivan, James Loughrey, Mark Collins and Paul Kerrigan.

Peader Healy Cork football manager Peadar Healy Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Ken O Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)

5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
6. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
7. James Loughrey (Mallow)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
9. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)

10. Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
12. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

16. Micheal Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)
17. Kieran Histon (Cobh)
18. Mark Collins (O’Donovan Rossa)
19. Bart Daly (Newmarket)
20. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
21. Sean Kiely (Ballincollig)
22. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
23. Donal Óg Hodnett (O Donovan Rossa)
24. Seamus Hickey (Rockchapel)
25. Dan McEoin (Ilen Rovers)
26. Colm O Neill (Ballyclough)

Tipp legend English steers UCD to Fitzgibbon Cup victory away to UCC

Defending champions UL off to winning start in Fitzgibbon Cup opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel