This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 1 °C Tuesday 28 January, 2020

Seven of Dublin's All-Ireland winning team named to start in league opener

All-Ireland U21 winners Brian Howard and Colm Basquel are also included in the starting 15.

JIM GAVIN HAS named his starting 15 for Dublin’s opening Allianz League Division 1 fixture, with seven of last year’s All-Ireland winning team named to start against Kildare in Croke Park on Saturday evening. [Throw-in, 7pm - eir sport 2]

Stephen Cluxton will make his 97th league appearance as Dublin goalkeeper, while Michael Fitzsimons, John Small and James McCarthy all come in to make up an experienced defensive unit.

Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny and Dean Rock are also drafted in from the side that captured a third consecutive All-Ireland title last September.

Michael Darragh Macauley comes in to partner up with Fenton in midfield, while seasoned attacker Bernard Brogan takes up his position in the inside forward line.

Brian Howard and Colm Basquel, who were both part of last year’s All-Ireland U21 winning side, are also selected to start.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. David Byrne (Naomhh Olaf)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)

5. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)
6. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

10. Brian Howard (Raheny)
11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge St)

13. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
15. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Pat Gilroy names new-look Dublin team for Saturday’s Croke Park double-header

9 All-Ireland winners to start for Dublin Ladies in league opener against 2017 finalists Donegal

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel