This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 24 April, 2019

Curran-inspired win over Clare not enough for Waterford to avoid relegation play-off

The Déise will face Cork next weekend.

Curran was in prolific form for Waterford this afternoon.
Curran was in prolific form for Waterford this afternoon.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Waterford 1-23

Clare 1-20

PATRICK CURRAN SHOT 1-13 as Waterford recorded their first victory at Walsh Park in over two years — but a second league success wasn’t enough to avoid a relegation play-off against Cork next weekend.

Prompted by Curran and Austin Gleeson, the Déise staged a first-half recovery from six in arrears and never looked back.Michael Kearney also impressed for a revamped home side with four points from play.

After back to back losses, Clare can plan for a league quarter final against Limerick.

Against the breeze, the away team raced 1-8 to 0-5 ahead inside the first quarter. Eight players were on target for the Banner. On 17 minutes, John Conlon pounced on a stray pass from Kevin Moran. Ian Galvin put Conor McGrath through one on one and fired past Ian O’Regan.

Austin Gleeson ignited Waterford fightback from number six. The Déise hit seven points on the bounce (five courtesy of Patrick Curran) to earn a 0-12 to 1-8 advantage after 31 minutes.

David Reidy levelled matters. Two minutes before the break, Curran whipped to the net after Conor Cleary hooked Stephen Bennett’s initial strike at goal. The Dungarvan man finished the half with 1-7. A Gleeson point in added time sent Derek McGrath’s men 1-13 to 1-10 clear.

Waterford's Philip Mahony and Clare's John Conlon share a joke at the end of the game Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Two Tony Kelly efforts restored parity nine minutes into the second period. Curran and Kearney edged the hosts back in front. Peter Duggan and John Conlon promptly levelled it up again at 1-15 apiece.

Three Curran frees gave the hosts a four point cushion entering the last ten minutes. Kearney added two more. Kelly’s fourth of the afternoon closed the gap to two. Conor Gleeson was dismissed on a second yellow before Curran completed his massive haul three minutes into injury time. The Déise snuffed out Duggan’s late free.

Scorers for Waterford: Patrick Curran 1-13 (9fs), Michael Kearney 0-4, Stephen Bennett 0-2, Kieran Bennett, Conor Gleeson, Austin Gleeson, Kevin Moran 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Peter Duggan 0-5 (4fs), Conor McGrath 1-1, Tony Kelly 0-4, David Reidy 0-3, Ian Galvin, John Conlon 0-2 each, Seadna Morey, Cathal Malone, Shane O’Donnell 0-1 each.


1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
17. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner)

5. Tadhg De Burca (Clashmore)
9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
8. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
25. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

26. DJ Foran (Portlaw)
15. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)
18. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)


23. Thomas Ryan (Tallow) for Walsh (50)
12. Tom Devine (Modeligo) for Foran (50)
4. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside) for O’Brien (54)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore) for Moran (60)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner) for Stephen Bennett (70)


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
3. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)
2. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)

5. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. David McInerney (Tulla)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

14. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
11. John Conlon (Clonlara)
12. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

15. Shane O Donnell (Éire Óg)
10. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
13. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)


17. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley) for Morey (52)
22. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge) for O’Connor (60)
19. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe) for Malone (67)
23. Ryan Taylor (Clooney Quin) for Galvin (69)
18. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate) for Browne (70)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Colm O’Neill scores 1-6 as Rebels see past Meath to keep promotion push alive

TJ Reid fires Kilkenny to crucial three-point win over Wexford

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel