Advertisement
  The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 27 September, 2016

#MLB

# mlb - Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

# mlb - Sunday 25 September, 2016

Jose Fernandez, one of baseball's brightest stars, dies in boating accident aged 24 RIP

Jose Fernandez, one of baseball's brightest stars, dies in boating accident aged 24

Marlins pitcher was one of three people killed in a boat crash off Miami Beach.

# mlb - Saturday 20 August, 2016

The Cleveland Indians created baseball history last night

The became the first team in MLB history to have a game-tying home run and a walk-off, inside-the-park home run in same inning.

# mlb - Tuesday 9 August, 2016

Tebow plans to pursue baseball career

The former NFL quarterback will be an outfielder, according to his agent.

# mlb - Wednesday 18 May, 2016

Baseball manager finds out he's been fired when one-way plane ticket arrives in his inbox

They didn’t even call poor Fredi Gonzalez into the boss’s office.

Baseball player gets 8-match ban for hitting his opponent an almighty wallop Ooof! This post contains videos

Baseball player gets 8-match ban for hitting his opponent an almighty wallop

“I was just trying to protect myself,” Rougned Odor said.

# mlb - Monday 16 May, 2016

Right-hand haymaker sparks second base brawl between Rangers and Blue Jays Odor This post contains videos

Right-hand haymaker sparks second base brawl between Rangers and Blue Jays

Nobody likes to see this sort of thing, right?

# mlb - Wednesday 27 April, 2016

Baseball star says accusations he is using PEDs are 'flattering'

Chicago Cubs pitcher Jake Arrieta did, however, dismiss claims he was cheating.

# mlb - Friday 22 April, 2016

Arrieta claims second career no-hitter as Cubs paint the town Reds

Arrieta claims second career no-hitter as Cubs paint the town Reds

Chicago clobbered Cincinnati 16-0 last night but it was their Cy Young winner who stole the show.

# mlb - Tuesday 5 April, 2016

5 foods served on baseball's opening day we need in our bellies right now

What’s better than a burger or a pizza? A burgerizza.

# mlb - Monday 4 April, 2016

Cubs the team to beat as 2016 MLB season gets under way

It’s been a long time coming, but few are looking past Chicago when it comes to World Series Glory.

# mlb - Friday 1 April, 2016

As the Major League Baseball season begins, Ireland’s own field of dreams continues to inspire

Sean Mitchell tells The42 how a field in Ashbourne will help grown the game here.

# mlb - Wednesday 30 March, 2016

Paper thinks up 7 stunning puns for baseball headline, finds a way to cram in all of them

Here’s hoping that Matt Harvey has a decent sense of humour.

# mlb - Sunday 8 November, 2015

A tribe called west: The forgotten Galway brothers who once ruled baseball

The O’Neill brothers from Maam in Connemara went all the way to the Major Leagues.

# mlb - Wednesday 4 November, 2015

One of America’s biggest baseball stadiums has been transformed into a golf course

Yes, you read that right – a golf course inside a baseball stadium!

# mlb - Monday 2 November, 2015

We never quit! Kansas City Royals win the World Series after another incredible comeback By Royal Appointment This post contains videos

We never quit! Kansas City Royals win the World Series after another incredible comeback

The Royals came from 2-0 down in the final innings to win Game 5 and a first World Series since 1985.

# mlb - Sunday 1 November, 2015

There was late drama in Game 4 of the World Series last night Royal Appointment This post contains videos

There was late drama in Game 4 of the World Series last night

The Kansas City Royals can clinch baseball’s biggest prize later tonight.

# mlb - Saturday 31 October, 2015

Syndergaard’s pitch almost decapitates Escobar as the Mets get off the mark

“I certainly wasn’t trying to hit the guy, that’s for sure. I just didn’t want him getting too comfortable.”

# mlb - Thursday 29 October, 2015

The New York Mets have picked a terrible time for their pitchers to go missing

The Kansas City Royals have taken a 2-0 World Series lead.

# mlb - Wednesday 28 October, 2015

Records tumble as Royals outlast Mets to take World Series lead

It took 14 innings to separate the two sides.

# mlb - Monday 26 October, 2015

A college dropout who quit his job to play fantasy sports now earns 6 figures

Dave Loughran is the exception, not the rule, however.

# mlb - Saturday 24 October, 2015

Controversial call helps Royals into second World Series in succession

Mike Moustakas was the beneficiary of the call.

# mlb - Friday 23 October, 2015

Despite massive dip in form, Tiger Woods remains the most valuable athlete in the world

Two of golf’s greats remain the leading money men in global sport, while baseball’s most recognisable side lead teams.

# mlb - Thursday 22 October, 2015

Murphy & the Mets sweep the Cubs to reach the World Series

It turns out Back to the Future II lied to us.

# mlb - Monday 19 October, 2015

The Chicago Cubs’ 107-year World Series dream is hanging by a thread

The Mets won again to take a 2-0 lead in the National League Championship Series.

# mlb - Thursday 15 October, 2015

The Texas Rangers scored on one of the strangest plays in playoff history last night

And nobody was sure if it should count or not.

# mlb - Wednesday 14 October, 2015

Back to The Future II predicted it and 7 more reasons to hop on the Cubs bandwagon

Having one of the best pitchers in baseball certainly helps.

# mlb - Tuesday 13 October, 2015

The Chicago Cubs went home run crazy to set a new baseball record

The Cubs are one win away from the National League championship series.

# mlb - Wednesday 30 September, 2015

MLB team make history by becoming first organisation to appoint female coach

Justine Siegal will be part of the Oakland Athletics coaching staff.

# mlb - Wednesday 23 September, 2015

One of baseball’s legendary names, Yogi Berra has died RIP

One of baseball’s legendary names, Yogi Berra has died

“It ain’t over ’til it’s over.” The New York Yankees and Mets Hall of Famer was 90.

# mlb - Wednesday 16 September, 2015

# mlb - Friday 21 August, 2015

# mlb - Sunday 16 August, 2015

It’s Sunday so here are our favourite sports images from the last week

Here’s how the week looked through a lens.

# mlb - Monday 27 July, 2015

The Mariners produced one of the rarest plays in baseball last night

The 3-6-2 triple play has not been seen in 60 years.

# mlb - Saturday 25 July, 2015

# mlb - Tuesday 21 July, 2015

This baseball team has a unique way of drying their outfield

We can’t imagine this is the best use of police resources mind.

# mlb - Wednesday 8 July, 2015

A rain cover tried to eat a man during a baseball game last night

Luckily, he had some friends on hand to help.

# mlb - Friday 19 June, 2015

Baseball star dropped after he’s caught ‘liking’ Instagram photos – in the middle of a game

“I was in the bathroom… I just grabbed my phone and checked it.”

# mlb - Thursday 18 June, 2015

# mlb - Wednesday 17 June, 2015

Major League team under FBI investigation for hacking rival’s scouting database

The St Louis Cardinals have been issued with subpoenas.

1 2 3 4 5