Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 15°C Friday 30 October 2020

Gaa - Friday 16 October, 2020

No shortage of live championship action as RTÉ unveil upcoming GAA coverage

League clashes, provincial showdowns and All-Ireland finals will all be shown live by the national broadcaster.

'There’s a lot of people calling for the matches to be stopped which I don’t agree with'

Michael Duignan says the GAA competitions ‘are worth fighting for’ as action resumes this weekend.

No GAA championships if country moves to Level 5, says Leo Varadkar

The 2020 inter-county season resumes this weekend.

Worries for players hiding potential Covid symptoms and lack of recognition for brother's retirement

Seán Cavanagh was speaking ahead of the inter-county action that gets underway this weekend.

'I wish the Camogie Association and LGFA would realise we want the best for both sets of players'

Dual player fixture clashes continue to impact players in both codes.

From Post-match parties and house gatherings: Where GPs notice Covid outbreaks originating Coronavirus

Post-match parties and house gatherings: Where GPs notice Covid outbreaks originating

A GP said one outbreak was linked to match celebrations where team members drank shots out of a championship cup.

'Absolutely crazy... counties more than 100km apart should play in neutral venues'

Pat Spillane’s Kerry face a long journey to Monaghan this weekend.

Gaa - Thursday 15 October, 2020

Dublin footballers to begin their All-Ireland six-in-a-row bid in Portlaoise

Dubs’ quarter-final against Westmeath throws in at 6.15pm on 7 November.

Blow for Offaly as Faithful confirm withdrawal from opening fixture

A member of their senior management team has been diagnosed with Covid-19.

Cork camogie championship clash with Galway moved to avoid dual player fixture clash

The Group 1 clash has been moved to Sunday 8 November.

Dublin unveil new jersey ahead of 2020 GAA Championships

Sky blue kit will be worn by the county teams in all four codes.

Gaa - Wednesday 14 October, 2020

'He just asked me if I was going to retire and I kind of said ‘no, why would I?’

Three-time All-Star winner Noel Connors is getting set to look on as Waterford prepare for the 2020 championship.

Jason Sherlock: 'As disappointed as I am, I hope that Diarmuid is in a good place with his decision'

The ex-Dublin player and coach on Connolly’s departure, Farrell’s arrival and a special 1995 memento.

Corofin All-Ireland winner given chance to impress in Galway senior team to play Mayo

Jason Leonard is named to start at wing-forward for the game at Tuam Stadium.

Gaa - Tuesday 13 October, 2020

'I got so upset because I was so relieved that I hadn't been in contact with anybody else'

Grace Walsh has recently returned to work after spending two weeks in isolation.

Moycullen players unavailable to Galway teams due to local Covid-19 outbreak

The news comes ahead of the return of inter-county action this weekend.

Limerick All-Ireland winning defender major doubt with serious knee injury

Manager John Kiely says Mike Casey must undergo scans to assess the damage.

Decision to recommend planning approval for 34,000-seater stadium at Casement Park announced

It is a significant step in the redevelopment of the Belfast ground, says Northern Ireland’s infrastructure minister Nichola Mallon.

Munster announce minor GAA live-streaming and camogie senior group stage coverage confirmed

The minor action begins with Cork taking on Clare in the Munster championship on Saturday.

Cork camogie squad will consider strike action over fixture clash controversy

Laura Treacy says the squad will not rule out withdrawing for the 2020 championship.

Gaa - Monday 12 October, 2020

Injuries hit Cork with Sheehan and Clancy joining group that are ruled out for 2020 campaign

Cork manager Ronan McCarthy is already planning without Liam O’Donovan and Kevin Crowley is also sidelined.

'It'll be good for him' - Canning backs All-Ireland winning team-mate to thrive with Westmeath

Davy Glennon recently declared for the Leinster county through the parental rule.

'Unfortunate timing' of Tipp's trip to Spain, the pain of losing on penalties and Bonner's return

Brendan Maher is gearing up for a unique hurling championship in 2020.

'I don't understand why we're playing with yellow sliotars. It's a strange decision' - Canning

The GAA announced the introduction of the yellow sliotars on Friday.

Young forward duo added to Cork senior hurling squad after impressive club form

Alan Connolly and Shane Barrett have been added to the senior hurling setup.

From Gardaí launch investigation over post-match Roscommon GAA dinner Boyle

Gardaí launch investigation over post-match Roscommon GAA dinner

Officers received a number of calls from concerned locals.

'He's an old friend of mine' - Joyce brings McGuinness in to help Galway training

Donegal’s All-Ireland winning boss took the Tribesmen for a training session yesterday.

Explainer: What's at stake for each county in the last two rounds of the GAA football league?

After a long break the Allianz football league is set to return this weekend.

Gaa - Sunday 11 October, 2020

Mayo's All-Ireland and Connacht winning manager steps down after five years in charge

Mike Solan guided Mayo to All-Ireland U21 glory in 2016 against Cork.

Quiz: Can you name these GAA county senior winners from the 2020 club championships?

The club action has nearly been completed, let’s test your knowledge of the last couple of months.

Gaa - Saturday 10 October, 2020

‘We will consider postponements in the Championship’

Leading GAA official says Croke Park will look at ‘particular circumstances for each game’ and make their decisions on a case by case basis.

'You're going to have GAA clubs preparing for a potential semi-final or final that may never be played'

Bart Gilmartin of the Old Leighlin Ladies team in Carlow explains how this decision impacts clubs around the country.

Motion to facilitate dual players is defeated at Camogie Congress

The same motion was also rejected by the Ladies Gaelic Football Association earlier this year.

Tuohy and O'Connor help to keep Geelong in contention for AFL glory

After today’s win over Collingwood, a Grand Final place will be at stake in next week’s Brisbane Lions clash.

'It's been kind of fairytale stuff' - The Antrim doctor part of a major Galway football breakthrough

Former Antrim player Owen Gallagher on a year starting out as doctor and Galway football glory with Moycullen.

Yellow sliotars to be used in 2020 All-Ireland senior hurling championship

The regulations for the upcoming fixtures have been announced.

Gaa - Friday 9 October, 2020

'I would put him in the same bracket as Eric Cantona who could do things that others couldn't'

Marc Ó Sé talks about recently retired Dublin legend Diarmuid Connolly as our guest on this week’s edition of the Warriors podcast.

Know Your Sport? Take our weekly quiz

How closely were you paying attention to the sports headlines this week?

GAAGO to stream non-televised league fixtures for €5 per match

First time that GAAGO has streamed live inter-county games for an Irish audience.